September Featured Artists: Albert Kahan and Donna Batzer

Valley Art Co-op Gallery and Shop is proud to announce the first two of our monthly featured artists — Albert Kahan, a photographer who makes useful items from his lovely photographs, tempered glass cutting boards with scenes of the San Luis Valley and other places of his travels, and coffee mugs with Valley scenes. Donna Batzer’s work as a potter and jeweler is also featured in September.

IMG_2423
Albert Kahan, Sand Dunes, tempered glass cutting board
IMG_2426
Donna Batzer, Kumihimo necklace with Raku pendant

Albert, a photographer and retired physicist, says about himself and his work:

In my previous life, I was a physicist who worked for DuPont in the design and manufacture of films for the printing industry. Photography was a hobby resulting in the thousands of slides. After retirement and the introduction of digital photography, I decided to display my work. I use Photoshop™ to alter, sometimes severely, images to make something I like. Sometimes, multiple images are combined. Since 2010, I have had my images put on on tempered glass cutting boards so that they can be practical as well as decorative. I also have ceramic cups.

IMG_2422
Albert Kahan, Monument Valley, tempered glass cutting board

Donna says of herself and her work:

I love color and am inspired by nature. Colorado is such an inspiration to me as there is something new every day. The plains, the mountains, lakes, and rivers, wildlife and birds all provide elements of inspiration for my designs. I developed the love for jewelry design many years ago when my parents filed their first turquoise mining claim and also became avid rock hounds. Taking a rock we found and turning it into a finished piece of jewelry is a very rewarding experience. I still love to hunt for rocks and gemstones to use in my work. While in school I also studied ceramics. My first classes of ceramics and metals were at Front Range Community College in Fort Collins and later I attended University of Northern Colorado with studies in ceramics and fiber. Upon our relocation to the San Luis Valley I worked towards a BFA in Ceramics and a BS with emphasis in metals and photography at Adams State. Pottery and Ceramics became my passion. I primarily work on functional pieces such as tea pots, mugs, bowls, earring and jewelry dishes and yarn bowls but also do ornaments and magnets. Another part of my ceramics is horsehair pottery and Raku pottery pieces.

donna blue vase
Donna Batzer, ceramic vase
One thought on “September Featured Artists: Albert Kahan and Donna Batzer

Leave a Reply

